What is a ” Book of Shadows”

In order to answer this properly I have broken this subject down into several other questions that I did answer on a video that my good friend Amythest posted on her YT channel and so I will put the video questions into writing to make it easier ( and since I think I may come across better on paper vs video, lol) BUT for those of you that want to see the video as well here is the link to my video, lol  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GnASyPEp9AY

Now to me personally a Book Of Shadows or Grimore or Book of Light or Mirrors or whatever you personally call your sacred book for your path and practice of the craft. But for me it is called a BOOK OF SHADOWS and to me it is a vital part of me and an extention of me and my thoughts, my dreams, spells, magickal works that I can use in my practice to help me grow and expand.

What does my Book of Shadows mean to me? Well it encompasses my 30 yrs of my sacred journey and walk with the God and Goddess, it is to me much more than a diary, it is every triumph, every disaster, every stumble, every celebration, every magickal question, every twist , turn and change I have made in my yrs. It to me is an extention of my soul.

Some of my favorite things to put into my personal Book of Shadows is since I identify as a Eclectic Rainbow witch it is indeed VERY colorful. I love to make my entries as colorful and imbued with as much love and magicakal properties as I can, how do I do that? Well for me I have a special set of paints, markers, colored pencils and crayons I ONLY use for my Book. I love to add spells that I have made special paintings to write my spells on and they go right into my book.

Do I let anyone read my Book of Shadows? NO! Now that being said I do not mind showing off my book(s) on camera, on video, ect but I NEVER share my spells the spell portion of my BOS is NOT for others eyes.

Do I have more than one book? Well yes I do, I currently have 3 one is a 3 ring binder that I use for all the massive wealth of ever changing info that I couldn’t possibly write down ( thank goodness we live in a computer era for this reason lol) like HERBS, CRYSTALS, PANTHEONS OF DEITIES, ECT and then I have my current Spell Book and I also have a pocket BOS that is in my purse along with a small travel altar because for me I do NOT stop being a witch when I walk out my door. But Istill have all of my spell books that I have used over my years and I still will ocassionally reference them or add some of my old info into my new one to refresh my path.Derrie's Current BOS's 2015

Leave a Reply

